Thursday, April 30, 2009


a Biblical thought...
I will show partiality to no one, nor will I flatter any man; for if I were skilled in flattery, my Maker would soon take me away. (Job 32:21-22)

a Book thought...
The officers in the goldfields in 1893 lived in hessian and pole huts and built their own halls and quarters. (p102)

a Dave thought...
Last night in cell group we started to look at Renovare. It was really helpful to look at these six traditions and value the different ways we can come before God and worship Him. As you read through the various ways you find and experience God you will discover some you do naturally and others that are really hard for you to relate to. Richard Foster has challenged us all to explore each of these traditions, regardless of our heritage. I am with Richard here as I have no doubt that when you do this, even though it may be uncomfortable at times, your Christian experience will be enriched.

1. The Contemplative Tradition
The prayer-filled life focuses upon intimacy with God and depth of spirituality. This spiritual dimension addresses the longing for a deeper, more vital Christian experience.

2. The Holiness Tradition
The Virtuous Life focuses upon personal moral transformation and the power to develop "holy habits." This spiritual dimension addresses the erosion of moral fiber in personal and social life.

3. The Charismatic Tradition
The Spirit-Empowered Life focuses upon the charisms of the Spirit and worship. This spiritual dimension addresses the yearning for the immediacy of God's presence among his people.

4. The Social Justice Tradition
The Compassionate Life focuses upon justice and shalom in all human relationships and social structures. This spiritual dimension addresses the gospel imperative for equity and compassion among all peoples.

5. The Evangelical Tradition
The Word-Centered Life focuses upon the proclamation of the evangel, the good news of the gospel. This spiritual dimension addresses the need for people to see the good news lived and hear the good news proclaimed.

6. The Incarnational Tradition
The Sacramental Life focuses upon making present and visible the realm of the invisible spirit. This spiritual dimension addresses the crying need to experience God as truly manifest and notoriously active in daily life.

Just a thought.

1 comment:

Mark said...

Wow - It would seem you are either asking the same questions about church that I am OR you have some answers!

Why is it most church-attenders get so hung up on the style? Why is it that style defines relevance? True worship has never changed ... Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You give a tenth of your spices—mint, dill and cummin. But you have neglected the more important matters of the law—justice, mercy and faithfulness. You should have practiced the latter, without neglecting the former Matt 23:23We need to be doers of the word following Jesus example. People respond to genuine love (look how they all flocked to be around Jesus) ... they're not exactly banging down the door at my church!